not every plant is a bean!


This is a lesson I learnt the hard way …

 

I was grateful to get a tender plant/sapling of tulsi (Ocimum tenuiflorum or Holy Basil) … I started to ‘take care’ of it along with the ‘bean plant’ our son had brought from his school (part of ‘spring curriculum’?)

Unfortunately, I realized after a couple of days – that Tulsi requires more watering than the bean plant which needed to be watered about once a week. As soon as I noticed the impact of ‘less care’ on the Tulsi, I started to take corrective measures – but I am sill waiting, with hope, to witness a ‘turnaround’ in its growth.

The incident also made me think that many times I might be treating people with ‘less care’ probably because I am like a ‘bean plant’ that does not need much caring. However, every plant is not a bean! – and I should be mindful of the different needs of other species. 🙂

The famous quote by Jesus Christ – ‘Do unto others as you would have them do unto you‘ – should not be taken just literally – one has to follow it in spirit as well.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “not every plant is a bean!”

  1. uniqideas Says:

    I am grateful to the almighty. I got a second chance! 🙂

  2. Harsh Thakkar Says:

    Deeply rooted..:)Conceded.

  3. Manender Says:

    true , very true !!

Leave a Reply

