i wonder …


… where do they go? what do they do?

birds-in-the-sky

There are innumerable birds in a ‘batch’ and you cannot even keep count of number of flocks! All of them happily, chirpily flying towards the west direction, early in the morning. It is really a pleasant & refreshing sight. I am grateful that I can enjoy the sight right from my balcony (whenever I get up early, that is)

All of them return back to east direction when the sun sets.

I wonder … where do they go? Is this like a ‘6 to 6’ job they do on all 7 days a week? And, what do they do, after all?

When I was a kid, I learned that the birds go out during the day to fetch food for their young ones. But, is it really true? Has someone tracked these birds (using RFID)? I think the ‘for food’ theory is flawed. They do not need to work so hard for mere food.

It is we humans who have to toil for day and night since our ‘wants’ are never ending (and we sometimes glorify our ‘greed’ with phrases like ‘raising the bar’) 🙂

Maybe, they just want to ‘escape’ to a peaceful place before we (homo sapiens sapiens) make the urban areas just ‘unbearable’ for them.

And did you ever admire the nature that has bestowed them with such a wonderful fault free inbuilt ‘air traffic control’ system? I have never heard of mid-air collission between two birds!

There sight reminds me of two things –

My early childhood (and still in my ‘to-do’ list) dream – I want to fly!

And

My favorite song –

        … I believe I can fly. I believe I can touch the sky.

        I think about it every night and day, spread my wings and fly away. …

Leave a Reply

