GOD moves in a mysterious way!


This insightful poem – ‘God moves in a mysterious way; His wonders to perform …’ by William Cowper – fascinated me right from my childhood (it was in the textbook at my school).

I recently happened to reflect on it with a new perspective


These days, I play with Rubik’s cube frequently (I have learned to solve all six faces of the cube – thanks to the notes here ). Our kid likes to see all ‘cubies’ (pieces) of same color gathered on a side of the cube.

RubikCubeSolved

Sometimes, when the cube is scrambled (unsolved), he requests me to solve one face of a particular color (say RED). When, I start, he is happy to see red cubies gathering on a side one by one. But as I move near to solving it totally (collecting all 9 cubies of red on one side) I have to temporarily ‘break’ already gathered cubies for the larger good of solving the whole side. And, since he does not know the underlying logic (or the need to do so) he gets disheartened that I am spoiling the side (instead of making it for him).

Maybe, this is exactly what is happening with us when we do not see things going our way. Our father – Almighty GOD – is temporarily ‘spoiling’ our ‘plot’ to fulfill our wish!

William Cowper has rightly said –
“The bud may have a bitter taste,
But sweet will be the flower.”

In fact, each and every verse of the poem has a very deep meaning. Literally, GOD moves in a mysterious way!

11 Responses to “GOD moves in a mysterious way!”

  1. pgpx08viewonly Says:

    Very thoughtful Harsh. Sometimes, an example is very powerful than the concept. – Kannan

  2. Abhishek Yadav Says:

    amazing analogy Harsh.

  3. finally, the book is out! « unique ideas! Says:

    […] finally, the book is out! Yippee! ‘Chicken Soup for the Indian Soul’ features an article based on my earlier blog –> https://uniqideas.wordpress.com/2007/05/01/god-moves-in-a-mysterious-way […]

  4. Hans Dholakia Says:

    Well-perceived and well-written,Harsh. Congrats !

    You may like these lines from Francis Thomson’s ‘The Hound of
    Heaven’ which was Paramahansaji’s such favourite and you can get
    an audio recording of this poem in his voice. Here Francis touchingly
    sees God as chasing His errant children, rather than they seeking Him,
    for how many of us have the wisdom to seek Him ? But He knows that
    unless we find Him, ‘everything will betray us’. The portions below
    which are in inverted commas are spoken by God.

    I fled Him, down the nights and down the days;
    I fled Him, down the arches of the years;
    I fled Him, down the labyrinthine ways
    Of my own mind; and in the mist of tears

    …… “All things betray thee, who betrayest Me.”

    “All which I took from thee I did but take,
    Not for thy harms.
    But just that thou might’st seek it in my arms.
    All which thy child’s mistake
    Fancies as lost, I have stored for the at home;
    Rise, clasp My hand, and come!”

    But still within the little children’s eyes
    Seems something, something that replies

    Is my gloom, after all,
    Shade of His hand, outstreched caressingly?

    “Ah, fondest, blindest, weakest,
    I am He Whom thou seekest!
    Thou dravest love from thee, who dravest Me.”

    Cheers n JG,

    Hans

  5. Madhuri Says:

    Congrats Harsh!!!
    This is really very motivating and can recharge anyone going through tough time.
    Relating with this eg. is great.
    Keep it up!

  6. Ashwani Arora Says:

    This is really wonderfull and thought provoking. Great source of inspiration. This tells that our life is full of complex cubes like this, which have already been solved by Almighty, but we can not perceive them with human eye.

  7. Ramya Katamneni Says:

    Your perception is very true when we start analysing the real scenarioes of this great amazing thing called “life”.

    BTW,Thanks to the TCS magazine…Got heard you from there.
    —Ramya Katamneni

  8. Sowmya Nandan Says:

    WOW !!…I believe that if we are able to digest such an analogy early in life…we would have a spirit to deal with life in a better way. Hope your story has created enough of insight in people and no doubt the inspiration to lead life at its best.

  9. Brijesh Popat Says:

    Harsh, very inspiring and the thought process is really good. You applied todays logic of a Rubik to a quote…. very nice!! I look forward to seeing more of your work being published.

    Regards, Brij

  10. Simon Lane Says:

    Amazing, thank you! I had been seeing this effect again and again recently and kept thinking of Cowper’s words. Googling for the poem itself I stumbled upon this blog entry of yours and the analogy resonated very strongly with me, everything seemed to fall into place.

    Thank you so very much again, and perhaps, equally, thanks to your son 🙂

  11. Brightcast Says:

    {My husband and i|My spouse and i|My wife and i} {ended up being|felt|got|have been|were} {|absolutely|now|quite|really|so|very} {cheerful|comfortable|contented|delighted|ecstatic|excited|fortunate|fulfilled|glad|happy|joyful|joyous|lucky|more than h…

    Thanks for your own labor on this site. My niece really likes managing internet research and it is obvious why. A lot of people know all concerning the dynamic ways you make sensible information via your website and as well encourage response from visi…

Leave a Reply

