How to get in IIM-A’s PGPX? (Random FAQ)


IIM Ahmedabad PGPX

About PGPX of IIM-A (& other things)

What is PGPX of IIM-A?

  • One-year full-time Post Graduate Program in Management for Executives.

When did IIM-A start such a course?

  • Just a year back. Their first batch started in April 2006

What is the specialization offered?

  • PGPX of IIM-A has a General Management focus

What is the admission procedure?

  • Appear for the GMAT
  • Apply online (10 August was last date for application in 2006)
  • Submit essays by email (if you are shortlisted)
  • Appear for Personal (30 minute) interview (if called)
  • Wait for the results :-)

What were the essay topics last year? (to be answered in 500 words)

  • What do you expect to gain from the PGPX at IIMA?
  • Describe a situation in your life that demonstrates your leadership qualities.
  • Describe the single event or achievement that has significantly influenced your life.
  • Give a description of yourself, stressing the personal characteristics you feel are your strengths and weaknesses.
  • Any other information that you believe may help us make a decision on your application. (This one was optional)

What are the fees?

  • 10 lacs (for the PGPX-II). Likely to be revised for future batches. (This includes five weeks of International Immersion)

What is the difference between normal PGP & PGPX of IIM-A?

  • Regular PGP is for 2 years. PGPX is for 1 yr
  • Admission to regular PGP is based on CAT/GD/etc. PGPX takes candidates based on GMAT/essays/etc
  • Regular PGP does not have work experience crieteria. PGPX of IIM-A needs minimum seven years of work experience

What is a good GMAT score to get in?

  • I would say you should target for 700+

What was your GMAT score?

  • I am lucky to get in with my score of 650

What other things apart from score that would carry weightage?

  • Your experience (especially international), your application, your essays

Where can I read more about IIM-A’s PGPX?

What are other such (full-time) programs available in India (based on GMAT)

I am aware of few (apart from IIM-A’s PGPX)-

About GMAT

Where can I take GMAT?

  • At all GMAT test centers (across the globe)

When can I take GMAT?

  • It is online exam. You can take it any day of the year (based on the availability at the test center of your choice)

What is the cost of GMAT?

  • 250 US$ (payable through credit card, online)

What is the test format?

  • It is a multiple choice questions – (Roughly speaking, it covers basic high school maths concepts and english language proficiency).

How long does it take to know the score after the test?

  • (Unofficial) score is available immediately after you complete the test

What is a good test score?

  • Every MBA institute has their own process of filtering applications and GMAT score is only one criteria. Hence, it really depends based on the school you choose. But, generally, the better the school, the higher is the demand! 800 is the maximum you can score. I personally feel, anything above 650 is good. Also, you need high scores in India (as compared to that in foreign universities)

Where can I know more about GMAT?

20 Responses to “How to get in IIM-A’s PGPX? (Random FAQ)”

  1. Abhishek Says:

    Good piece of information Harsh and thanks for sharing …. keep posting! and any information on placements ? what was the total estimated expenses for that US university u rejected?

  2. Apoorv Sharma Says:

    Pretty informative sir !…good to see the roadmap you took to your ultimate objective. Well, of course I need to wait a long time and a LOT of hard work if I imagine myself in somewhat a position such as yours :P
    All the best !

  3. RANDHIR Says:

    Thanks for info. If you have info for 2007 selected candidates then please let me know.
    Is there any yahoo groups for IIM-A PGPX?

  4. Ramakrishna T Says:

    Thanks for the useful info. Can u share the placement statistics of the PGPX?.

  5. onair Says:

    Hi,
    I have got a score of 650 . have 9 years of exp and out of this 5 years international experience, manager handling a big team and lot of presales activities also . would like to know my chances, should i write gmat again or try in iima with my score :(

  6. kamalkumar Says:

    interesting piece of information, very well compiled. i also had the opportunity to read some of your blogs and must compliment you and also tejbir for raising some interesting points in your blogs.

    what’s your biggest take-away from the PGPX program?
    what is the perspectives of some of the corporates who make offers on completion of PGPX?
    are global portfolios being offered to ones selected by them?

    please do share some ideas, do let me know. I have made up my mind to gain admission into this program, but wish to know more.

    and last yet most important, what’s the best way to stay connected with you?

    best regards,
    kamalkumar.

  7. Balakrishnan Says:

    I am a Mechanical Engineer & would have 4.5 years of experience by next year. I am plenning to go for pgpx of IIM. as per the info you have shared iim expects minimum 7 years of experience. can i still apply for the programme? I am currently working with Larsen & Toubro Ltd & Was previously working with TATA Projects Ltd. Can the profile I have handled makeup for 2.5 years i m falling short of?

  8. SUNIL Says:

    Like to 8 years exp in hcl with 705 gmat score female candidate what is the chance and scope current ctc is 12 lacs what can be expected after doing pgpx

  9. Hans Says:

    Thanks for the article. It was very helpful. I plan to apply to IIM-A PGPX 2009.

    I do not know if you are in a position to answer/reply to the questions posted here, but I am going to ask a few anyways :)

    My Profile:-
    I have been working as a Sr. Consultant for a top-5 consulting firm in NYC for the last 3 years. My 6 year experience primarily consists of IT consulting, spread across several industries. I am slowing transitioning from Technology Consulting to more of Business Process Consulting within my firm. I have lead small teams on a few projects, and have helped in several pursuits and pre-sales activities. However, I do not have any hardcore management experiences that I can proudly present.

    I have a Bachelors Degree in Computer Engineering from Mumbai University, and graduated top in my school. I gave my GMAT a couple of months back and got a score of 730 (Q48, V42). I know it is not an exceptional score, especially considering the average score of 728 for the 2008 batch. I have a good deal of international experience; having worked in, lived in and visited many countries.

    Questions:-
    1) What are my chances? How should I position myself? Do you think it is necessary for me to distinguish myself from the myriad IT applicants? Or will it work to my advantage?

    2) How important are the essays in the whole application process? What do the Admission Officers typically look for in the essays? Do the essays topics change every year?

    3) What kind of questions should I be prepared for in the personal interview? What does the panel look for, other than the obvious (leadership skills, experience, maturity etc)?

    Your feedback will be greatly appreciated.

    Peace!!
    Hans

  10. Fantastic 4 (MBA programs by IIMs in India)! « unique ideas! Says:

    […] (MBA programs by IIMs in India)! My blog statistic reveals that the most viewed articles are How to get in IIM-A’s PGPX – Random FAQ and How IIM-A’s PGPX compares to world […]

  11. Revista MBA » Blog Archive » Fantastic 4 (MBA programs by IIMs in India)! Says:

    […] Muchas gracias por tu visita!My blog statistic reveals that the most viewed articles are How to get in IIM-A’s PGPX – Random FAQ and How IIM-A’s PGPX compares to world […]

  12. abhilash Says:

    i want to know the total no. of seats in iim’s

  13. abhay Says:

    No of seats r not fixed. it depends on how much candudates actually apply to the course. They actually keep 10% of applications as their batch strength . for more detail u can refer to Pagalguy.com everything of cat, gmat,xat etc.

  14. shakti Says:

    Hi Guys,
    I have a quick question and would help if any one of you can please help me figure this out. The experience criteria of 7 years- is that one chunk of 7 years or can it be split experience. So after BE- i worked for 2 years, then MBA, then worked for 2 years, and then 3 years (till date)..so will the folks count that as 2+2=3=7 or the pre MBA work ex will be discounted?
    Any thoughts?
    Thanks-
    Shakti

  15. balaji Says:

    How many seats are available for PGPX in iima

  16. balaji Says:

    how many seats are available for pgpx in iim a

  17. Manoj Kumar Says:

    Hi

    I’ve been working with a MNC (IT) in India as Technical Lead. As a part of my day to day activities I need to deal with the people spread across the globe (China,US,UK) but I never been to any overseas location personally. Will it be call an International exposure or what ??

    BR
    Manoj

  18. Deep Says:

    I have 5 years exp in the HR Generalist role in Indian Retail & Insuance industry at State level. Done Full time PG-HR & MPM from Pune Univ. How much GMAT score do i need to knock off PGPX Yr 2012?

  19. wiki-ins.ru Says:

    Investing as a hobby is a fun and simple way to help secure your financial future.
    More often than not, this proves to be a winning strategy if
    you stick with investment grade securities. Raising Money – For Real Estate – Get Educated on
    Prices – But this is also a good time for you to see just how much you have saved or not.

  20. improvements Says:

    Hey There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn. That is an extremely well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it aand come back to read more of your helpful information.

    Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

